الأثر والرسالة

تأسس مجلس محو الأمية في عام 1985 ، وهو منظمة غير ربحية تمكن الناس من الإنجاز. من خلال البرامج والخدمات التي يقدمها مجلس محو الأمية ، سينمو الكبار والأطفال والأسر من مهارات محو الأمية التي حصلوا عليها. تشمل برامجنا: التدريس الفردي ، ودروس اللغة الإنجليزية كلغة ثانية ، ودروس الكمبيوتر ، و "جاهز للتعلم". يتم تقديم جميع البرامج دون أي تكلفة على العميل.

في عام 2016 ، أصبح مجلس محو الأمية شريكًا مجتمعيًا مع United Way في مبادرة تعليمية للصفوف المبكرة بعنوان I READ. يرجى زيارة قسم "المشاركة" في موقعنا على الإنترنت لمعرفة كيف يمكنك مساعدة مجلس محو الأمية في تمكين الناس من تحقيق الإنجاز.

Donation Boxes

وطنيا

تنصح تكلفة محو الأمية المنخفضة ، وفقًا للمعهد الوطني لمحو الأمية ، "تحمل أمية الكبار سعرًا تقديريًا يبلغ 225 مليار دولار سنويًا نتيجة فقدان الدخل وعائدات الضرائب ، والبطالة أو العمالة الناقصة ، والسجن ، والتدريب الإضافي للمبتدئين وظائف."

  1. معدلات الجريمة: 60٪ من نزلاء الولايات المتحدة لا يمكنهم قراءة أو كتابة خطاب. 75٪ من نزلاء سجون الولاية لم يكملوا المرحلة الثانوية.

  2. البطالة: يتطلب البحث عن وظيفة والقدرة على الاحتفاظ بوظيفة مهارات معرفة القراءة والكتابة إلى جانب زيادة مهارات المفردات المتخصصة.

  3. الرعاية الصحية: عدم القدرة على قراءة الوثائق الطبية يضيف أكثر من 230 مليار دولار إلى التكاليف الصحية السنوية للبلاد.

محليا

يوجد أكثر من 44000 شخص في منطقة خدمة المقاطعات الثلاث لدينا بدون دبلوم المدرسة الثانوية أو GED. بدون هذا الإنجاز ، هناك عدد قليل من الوظائف المتاحة لهم ، ولا تدفع أي من هذه الوظائف ما يكفي لاستمرار الحياة اليومية. وهذا يعني ارتفاع معدل الجريمة ، وبدء الأطفال في المدرسة بمهارات منخفضة في القراءة والكتابة ، والمزيد من الضرائب لدعم برامج المساعدة العامة.

Donation Boxes
Donation Boxes

لماذا تقديم التعليمات بدون تكلفة؟

يختبئ الآلاف من البالغين في مجتمعنا وراء الشعور بالذنب المرتبط بالأمية. لا يستطيع الآخرون التحدث باللغة الإنجليزية. هذه هي الأنشطة التي يمكن لبقيتنا أخذها كأمر مسلم به مثل ملء طلبات العمل ، وفهم ملصقات زجاجات الأقراص ومساعدة الأطفال في أداء الواجبات المنزلية. تصبح هذه صراعًا يوميًا للبالغين ذوي مهارات القراءة والكتابة المنخفضة. هناك صلة مباشرة بين انخفاض مهارات القراءة والكتابة والمساعدة العامة ، والتي تشمل الأطفال الذين يعيشون في فقر ، وزيادة عدد نزلاء السجون. محو الأمية هو أحد أعظم أسلحتنا في الصراع المستمر بين شخص ناجح أو فاشل. بدون محو الأمية ، يكافح الكبار غير المتعلمين للوصول إلى إمكاناتهم الكاملة كأفراد وآباء وموظفين ومواطني الولايات المتحدة. ساعدنا في رفع مستوى الوعي بهذه القضية.

أنشطة

يحقق مجلس محو الأمية مع مبادراتنا أكثر من أي وقت مضى. نحن نعمل على العديد من المشاريع المثيرة للمساعدة في تحسين حياة الآخرين ، ونحن فخورون جدًا بالتقدم الذي نواصل تحقيقه. تعرف على المزيد حول ما نقوم به ، ومن نساعده ، وكيف نعمل كل يوم لتعزيز التغيير الإيجابي.

BOONE COUNTY

Nurse Talking to Patient

مجموع السكان:

  • 53426

البالغون (16 سنة فأكثر) الذين يعيشون في فقر:

  • 3،874 (7.3 ٪ من سكان المحافظة)

متلقو المساعدات العامة من البالغين:

  • 3،028 (5.7٪)

الكبار (16 سنة فأكثر) أقل من مستوى القراءة للصف التاسع:

  • 1،933 (3.6٪)

الكبار (16 سنة فأكثر) بعض المدارس الثانوية بدون تخرج

  • 3922 (7.3٪)

اللغة الإنجليزية ليست لغة أساسية في المنزل:

  • 6،829 (12.8٪)

OGLE COUNTY

The Streets

مجموع السكان:

  • 21،692

البالغون (16 سنة فأكثر) الذين يعيشون في فقر:

  • 1،074 (4.9٪ من سكان المقاطعة)

متلقو المساعدات العامة من البالغين:

  • 1.058 (4.9٪)

الكبار (16 سنة فأكثر) أقل من مستوى القراءة للصف التاسع:

  • 549 (2.5٪)

الكبار (16 سنة فأكثر) بعض المدارس الثانوية بدون تخرج

  • 1،427 (6.6٪)

اللغة الإنجليزية ليست لغة أساسية في المنزل:

  • 669 (3.1٪)

WINNEBAGO COUNTY

Community Service

مجموع السكان:

  • 293،581

البالغون (16 سنة فأكثر) الذين يعيشون في فقر:

  • 35.094 (11.9٪ من سكان المقاطعة)

متلقو المساعدات العامة من البالغين:

  • 30907 (10.5٪)

الكبار (16 سنة فأكثر) أقل من مستوى القراءة للصف التاسع:

  • 10810 (3.7٪)

الكبار (16 سنة فأكثر) بعض المدارس الثانوية بدون تخرج

  • 25،003 (8.5٪)

اللغة الإنجليزية ليست لغة أساسية في المنزل:

  • 26.096 (8.9٪)

يتم دعم خدمات محو الأمية من خلال منحة مقدمة من مكتبة ولاية إلينوي (ISL) ، وهي قسم تابع لمكتب وزير الخارجية ، باستخدام الأموال المخصصة لمحو الأمية. لغرض الامتثال للقسم 511 من القانون العام 101-166 (تعديل ستيفنز) ، يأتي ما يقرب من 10.5٪ من تمويل مجلس محو الأمية للسنة المالية 2015 من مصادر فيدرالية. وبلغ إجمالي المبلغ المستلم 56535 دولارا.

IMPACT AND MISSION

The Literacy Council, founded in 1985, is a not for profit organization that empowers people to achieve. Through programs and services The Literacy Council offers, adults, children, and families will grow from the literacy skills they have obtained. Our programs include: one on one tutoring, English as a Second Language classes, computer classes and READy to Learn. All programs are offered at no cost to the client.

In 2016, The Literacy Council became a community partner with United Way on a early-grade learning initiative entitled I READ. Please visit the “Get Involved,” section of our website to learn how you can help The Literacy Council empower people to achieve.

Donation Boxes

NATIONALLY

The cost of low literacy, per the National Institute for Literacy, advises “Adult illiteracy carries an estimated price tag of $225 Billion annually as a result of loss of income and tax revenue, unemployment or underemployment, incarceration, and supplemental training for entry-level jobs.”

  1. Crime rates:  60% of U.S. inmates cannot read or write a letter. 75% of state prison inmates did not complete high school.

  2. Unemployment: Job searching and the ability to maintain a job demands literacy skills along with an increase in specialized vocabulary skills.

  3. Health Care: The inability to read medical documentation adds over $230 billion to the country’s annual health costs.

LOCALLY

There are over 44,000 people in our three county service area without a High School diploma or GED. Without that achievement, there are a low number of jobs available for them, and none of those jobs pay enough to sustain day to day living. It means an elevated crime rate, children starting school with low literacy skills, and more taxes going to support public assistance programs.

Donation Boxes
Donation Boxes

WHY PROVIDE INSTRUCTION AT NO COST?

Thousands of adults in our community hide behind guilt associated with illiteracy. Others cannot speak the English language. These are activities that the rest of us can take for granted like filling out job applications, understanding pill bottle labels and helping children with homework. These become a daily struggle for adults with low literacy skills. There is a direct link between low literacy skills and public assistance, which includes children living in poverty, and the increasing prison populations. Literacy is one of our greatest weapons in the ongoing struggle between a person succeeding or failing. Without literacy, uneducated adults struggle to reach their full potential as individuals, parents, employees and United States citizens. Help us raise awareness of this issue.

ACTIVITIES

The Literacy Council is achieving more with our initiatives than ever before. We work on many exciting projects to help improve the lives of others, and are very proud of the progress we continue to make. Learn more about what we do, who we help, and how we work every day to promote positive change.

BOONE COUNTY

Total Population:

  • 53,426

Adults (16 & over) Living in Poverty: 

  • 3,874 (7.3% of county population)

Adult Public Aid Recipients:

  • 3,028 (5.7%)

Adults (16 & over) Less than 9th Grade Reading Level: 

  • 1,933 (3.6%)

Adults (16 & over) Some High School with No Graduation

  • 3,922 (7.3%)

English Not a Primary Language in the Home:

  • 6,829 (12.8%)

OGLE COUNTY

Total Population:

  • 21,692

Adults (16 & over) Living in Poverty: 

  • 1,074 (4.9% of county population)

Adult Public Aid Recipients:

  • 1,058 (4.9%)

Adults (16 & over) Less than 9th Grade Reading Level: 

  • 549 (2.5%)

Adults (16 & over) Some High School with No Graduation

  • 1,427 (6.6%)

English Not a Primary Language in the Home:

  • 669 (3.1%)

WINNEBAGO COUNTY

Total Population:

  • 293,581

Adults (16 & over) Living in Poverty: 

  • 35,094 (11.9% of county population)

Adult Public Aid Recipients:

  • 30,907 (10.5%)

Adults (16 & over) Less than 9th Grade Reading Level: 

  • 10,810 (3.7%)

Adults (16 & over) Some High School with No Graduation

  • 25,003 (8.5%)

English Not a Primary Language in the Home:

  • 26,096 (8.9%)

Literacy services are supported through a grant awarded by the Illinois State Library (ISL), a division of the Office of Secretary of State, using funds designated for literacy. For the purpose of compliance with Section 511 of Public Law 101-166 (Stevens Amendment), approximately 10.5% of The Literacy Council’s FY2015 funding comes from federal sources. The total amount received was $56,535.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram

©2020 by The Literacy Council. Proudly created with Wix.com